Home
Don't have an account? Create one now! It's always free!

Forgot Password
Ed's Auto Parts - Mention MOTORGEN for a Discount!
Motorgen Sponsor: McLeod Racing
Motorgen Sponsor: American Muscle - Add style and performance to your Stang
Motorgen Sponsor: Hall Fabrication & Racing
Motorgen Sponsor: Injectors Plus - Performance Fuel Delivery Systems

Old 07-29-2011, 04:38 PM   #1

Default 8 second ride...

I've been riding my softail for about 6 yrs now and have logged pretty near 50,000 miles on it, so I don't consider myself a greenhorn. But I pulled a good one the other day that I just gotta share -if only so you all can have a good laugh at the new guy's expense.

Found a screaming deal on a panhead chopper that was everything I remember a scooter was supposed to be from when I was a little kid in the '70s. Long springer, no front brake, rigid frame, kick only, tall king and queen for haulin' hippy chicks, and nothing that isn't required to make it go or stop. Rode it home, and in that 8 miles or so I thought I was gonna die about 3 different times. Front end has about a foot of trail and the original brake pedal is about 8" up and back from the foot peg.

Went to work on the slope for 2 weeks and probably rode 800 miles in my imagination. Must've worked, cause I got home, hopped on, and took off. Got used to the low speed cornering, brake pedal, and lack of suspension real quick. I thought... I'm gettin long-winded so here's the story.